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Statement pursuant to NRS 233B.0613(1) to implement regulations pursuant to
The Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act under NRS 453D

Voters approved the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act at the 2016 General Election.
The Act is codified in Chapter 453D and provides that the Depariment of Taxation (“Department”) shall
adopt all regulations necessary or convenient to carry out the provisions of NRS Chapter 453D.
Temporary regulation Legislative Counsel Bureau (“LCB™) File No. T002-17 was adopted on May 8,
2017 (the “temporary regulation™). Pursuant to NRS 233B.063, the temporary regulation will expire on
November 1, 2017.

Marijuana establishments became licensed under the temporary regulation to sell adult-use
marijuana starting July 1, 2017. The temporary regulation also provides operating requirements
including provisions pertaining to licensing, security, inventory control, packaging, labeling, testing,
transportation, taxes, fees, and penalties. Additionally, it addresses the prevention of the sale or
diversion of marijuana or marijuana products to the black market or to persons under 21 years of age.

The Department drafted a permanent regulation and conducted public workshops from July 24
through July 27, 2017 on the proposed permanent regulation. The draft language was submitted to LCB
on September 6, 2017 and was assigned LCB File No. R092-17. The Department has not yet received
the approved text of LCB File No. R092-17 from LCB. Pursuant to NRS 233B.064, the Department
cannot adopt LCB File No. R092-17 until it has received from LCB the approved or revised text of the
regulation in the form to be adopted. The Department must also provide 30 days’ notice of the public
hearing before the Nevada Tax Commission to adopt the permanent regulation once it receives the
approved text of the permanent regutation from LCB.

This emergency regulation is necessary to provide continued operating, regulatory and
enforcement requirements for licensed marijuana establishments as well as licensing procedures to those
seeking to apply for marijuana establishment licenses while the permanent regulation is pending. This
regulation will ensure that the adult-use market continues to be tightly regulated under a strictly
controlled regulatory system.

Dated this 26" day of October, 2017:

Deowme £. Contope FILED.Y.555

Deonne E. Contine, Executive Director 201TNEV $ i10:22
Nevada Department of Taxation RECE IVED &'{DE‘Z&
NOV -1 2017

. Legal Division
Legislative Counse} Bureay




Statement prepared pursuant to NRS 233B.0613(1)
Qctober 26,2017
Page 2

I hereby endorse this Statement prepared by the Executive Director of the Department of Taxation
pursuant to NRS 233B.0613(1) .

Dated this day of October, 2

Sandoval, Governor
te of Nevada



EMERGENCY REGULATION OF THE

NEVADA TAX COMMISSION

October ___, 2017

Matier in ifalics is new; matter in brackets [omitled matcrial] is material to be omitted.

Filing of an Emergency Administrative Regulation

AUTHORITY: NRS 453D.200 authorizes the Department to adopt all regulations necessary or
convenient to carry out the provisions of NRS Chapter 453D.

Section 1. Chapter 453D of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set
forth as sections 2 to 31, inclusive, of this Chapter.

Sec. 2. As used in sections 2 to 31, unless the context otherwise reguires, the words and
ferms defined in sections 3 to 10, inclusive, have the meanings ascribed to them in those
sections.

Sec. 3. “Department” defined, “Departiment” means the Department of Taxation.

Sec. 4. “Fair Market Value” defined. “Fair Market Value” is the value established by the
Department based on the price that a buyer would pay to a seller in an arm’s length
transaction for marijuana in the wholesale market.

Sec. 5. “Marijuana Establishment” defined. A “Marijuana Establishment” means a
marijuana cultivation facility, a marijuana testing facility, a marijuana product
manufacturing facility, a marijuana distributor, or a retail marijuana store.

Sec. 6. “Marijuana Establishment Agent” defined. A “Marijuana Establishment Agent”
means an owner, officer, board member, employee or volunteer of a marijuana establishment,

an independent contractor who provides labor relating to the cultivation, processing, or



distribution of marijuana or the production of marijuana or marijuana products for a licensed
marijuana establishment, or an employee of such an independent contractor,

Sec. 7. “Excluded Felony Offense” defined. An “Excluded Felony Offense” has the
meaning ascribed to it in NRS 453D.

Sec. 8. “Medical Marijuana Establishment Registration Certificate” defined. A “Medical
Marijuana Establishment Registration Certificate” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS
453A4.119,

Sec. 9. “Marijuana” defined. “Marijuana” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS
453D.030.

Sec. 10. “Medical Marijuana” defined. “Medical Marijuana” means the possession,
delivery, production or use of marijuana pursuant to NRS 453A.

PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION OF MARIJUANA
Licensing of retail marijuana stores, marijuana testing facilities, marijuana product
manufacturing facilities, and marijuana cnltivatien facilities

Sec. 11. Procedures for the issuance and revocation of a license to operate a marijuana
establishment.

1. A medical marijuana establishment that has received a medical marifuana

establishment registration certificate and is in good standing, as defined in subsection
7 of this section, under its medical marijuana establishment registration certificate may
apply for a marijucna establishment license during any period of not more than 5 days

that the Department issues a request for applications.



2. The application must be submitted by the same entity that holds the medical
marijuana establishment certificate and must be submitted on a form prescribed by
the Department pursuant to NRS 453D.210 and must include, without limitation;

(a) A one-time, nonrefundable application fee of 85,000 plus a license fee of:

) 520,000 for a Retail Establishment;

(2) $30,000 for a Cultivation Facility;

3) $10,000 for a Production/Manufacturing Facility; or
4) 815,000 for a Testing Facility

(b) That the applicant is applying for a marijuana establishment license;

(¢} The type of marijuana establishment license for which the applicant is
applying;

(d) The name of the marijuana establishment, as reflected on the registration
certificate issued pursuant to NRS 4534 and in the articles of incorporation or
other documents filed with the Secretary of State;

(e} The physical address where the marijuana establishment will be located and the
Physical address of any co-owned or otherwise affiliated marijuana
establishments;

() The mailing address of the applicant;

(&) The telephone number of the applicant;

(h) The electronic mail address of the applicant;

(i) Attestation that the applicant understands they must be properly zoned in
compliance with NRS 453D.210(5)(a)-(c) and NRS 453D.210(5)(e) prior to

receiving a marijuana establishment license;



() A signed copy of the Request and Consent to Release Application Form for
Marijuana License;
(k) An attestation that the information provided to the Department to apply for the
marijuana establishment license is true and correct according to the
information known by the affiant at the time of signing;
{1) The signature of a natural person for the proposed marijuana establishment
and the date on which the person signed the application; and
(m)Any other information that the Department may require.
3. The Department shall maintain the confidentiality of and shall not disclose the
name or any other identifying information of any person who applies for a
marijuana establishment license. A list of the licensed entities will be posted on the
Department’s website.
4. Upon receipt of the application by the Department, the Department shall approve the
issuance of a marijuana establishment license if:
(a) The applicant holds the same or similar license type under NRS 453A for which
it is applying;
(b) The applicant is in good standing under its medical marijuana establishment
registration certificate; and
(c) The applicant is in compliance with NRS 453D.210 (5)(a)-(f). For purposes of
determining compliance with 453D(5)(c) and (e), the Department will issue the
license if the locality in which the proposed marijuana establishment will be

located does not affirm to the Depuartment that the proposed marijuana



establishment will be in violation of zoning or land use rules adopted by the
locality.

5. If the proposed marijuana establishment will be located at a location different from
the medical marijuana establishment, the Department will not issue a marijuana
establishment license until the Department completes an inspection of the proposed
marijuana establishment. Such an inspection may require more than one visit to the
proposed marijuana establishment.

6. If the marijuana establishment license is not approved, the license fee will be
refunded to the applicant.

7. As used in this section, a medical marijuana establishment is in “good standing” if
it Is in compliance with NRS 4534 and NAC 4534, including but not limited to the
Jollowing:

(a) For all medical marijuana establishments:

(1) All licenses, certificates and fees are current and paid;

(2} No registration certificate suspension within 6 months of the effective
date of the marijuana establishment license for enforcement violations
including but not limited to provisions NRS 4534.352, NRS 4534.362,
NAC 4534.406, NAC 453A4.414, NAC 453A4.658, NAC 453A.668, and
NAC 4534.672;

(3) The applicant is not delinquent in the payment of any tax administered
by the Department or is not in default on a payment required pursuant
to a writlen agreement with the Department; or is not otherwise liable to

the Department for the payment of money;



(4) No citations for illegal activity or criminal conduct; and
(5) Plans of correction are in progress or are complete and on time as
defined in NRS 4534.330.
(b} If a medical marijuana establishment registration certificate is provisional it is
nol in good standing pursuant to this section.
Sec. 12. Marijuana establishment licenses except marijuana distributor; Grounds for
denial, suspension or revocation.
1. The Department will deny an application for a marijuana establishment license if:
(a) The applicant is not in compliance with NRS 4534, NAC 4534, NRS 453D or
this Chapter;
() The applicant is not in good standing as required by Section 11 of this
Chapter;
(c) The applicant is not in compliance with NRS 453D zoning requirements;
(d) The applicant has not paid fees required by NRS 453D; or
(e} The marijuana establishment has failed to pay any tax or fee required by NRS
3724 or NRS 453D and any other law imposing a tax or fee on the sale of
marijuana and marijuana products in this State.
2. The Departnent will revoke or suspend a marijuana establishment license if:
(a) The marijuana establishment dispenses, delivers or otherwise transfers
marijuana to a person under 21 years of age;
(b) The marijuana establishment acquires usable marijuana or mature marijuana
plants from any person other than a marijuana establishment agent or another

licensed marijnana establishment;



(c) An owner, officer or board member of the marijuana establishment has been
convicted of an excluded felony offense;

(d) The Department receives formal notice from the applicable local government
that the marijuana establishment has had its authorization to operate
terminated;

{e) Any license issued pursuant to NRS 453A is suspended or revoked; or

(0 The marijuana establishment failed to pay any tax or fee required by NRS
3724 or NRS 453D and any other law imposing a tax or fee on the sale of
marijuana and marifuana products in this State.

Licensing of marijuana distributors
Sec. 13. Applications to operate marijuana establishment — marijuana distributors:
Required provisions.
1. The Department will accept distributor applications from persons holding a liquor
wholesaler dealer license pursuant to NRS 369.
(a) Person has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 0.039.
(I) The person holding the wholesaler liguor dealer license must be the
person applying for the marijuana distributor license.
(2) The applicant and each person who is proposed to be an owner, officer or
board member of the entity must comply with the provisions set forth in
NRS 4534.322 and NRS 4534.332 regarding fingerprinting and
background checks.
Sec, 14, Marijuana establishment license for marijuana distributor. Procedures for the

issuance of 2 marijuana distributor license.



1, An application submitted for a marijuana distributor license from an applicant must be
on a form prescribed by the Department pursuant to NRS 453D.210 and must include;

(a) A one-time, nonrefundable application fee of $5,000; plus a 515,000 license
Jee;

(b) The name of the proposed marijuana distributor, as reflected in the articles of
incorporation or other documents filed with the Secretary of State;

(c) The type of business organization of the applicant, such as individual,
corporation, parinership, limited-liability company, association or cooperative,
Jjoint venture or any other business organization;

(d) Confirmation that the applicant has registered with the Secretary of State as the
appropriate type of business, and the articles of incorporation, articles of
organization or parinership or joint venture documents of the applicant;

(e) The physical address where the proposed marijuana distributor will be located
and the physical address of any co-owned or otherwise affiliated marijuana
establishments;

() The mailing address of the applicant;

(g) The telephone number of the applicant;

(%) The electronic mail address of the applicant;

(i) An attestation that the information provided to the Department to apply for the
marijuana distributor license is true and correct according to the information
known by the affiant at the time of signing;

() The signature of a natural person for the proposed marijuana distributor and

the date on which the person signed the application;



(k) Documentation from a financial institution in this State, or any other state or
the District of Columbia, which demonstrates:
(1) That the applicant has liguid assets that demonstrate the applicant is in
a financial condition to operate as a distributor. The funds should be
unencumbered and able to be converted within 30 days after a request
to liquidate such assets; and
(2) The source of those liguid assets.
() A description of the proposed organizational structure of the proposed
marijuana distributor, including, without limitation:
(1) An organizational chart showing all owners, officers and board
members of the proposed marijuana distributor; and
(2} A list of all owners, officers and board members of the proposed
marijuana distributor that contains the following information for each
person:
a. The title of the person;
b. A short description of the role the person will serve in for the
organization and his or her responsibilities;
¢. Whether the person has served or is currently serving as an
owner, officer or board member of a medical marijuana
establishment;
d. Whether the person has served as an owner, officer or board

member for a medical marijuana establishment that has had its



medical marijuana establishment registration certificate revoked
or suspended;

e. Whether the person has previously had a medical marijuana
establishment agent registration card revoked;

J. Whether the person is a law enforcement officer;

8. Whether the person is currently an employee or contractor of the
Department;

h. Whether the person has an ownership or financial investment
interest in a medical marijuana establishment;

L A signed copy of the Request and Consent to Release Application
Form for Marijuana Distributor License;

J- A complete set of fingerprints and written permission of the
owner, officer or board member authorizing the Department to
Jorward the fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada
Records of Criminal History for submission fo the Federal
Bureau of Investigation for its report;

k. A signed copy of the Child Support Verification Form; and

I The completed Driver Verification Form

m. For each owner, officer and board member of the proposed
marijuana distributor:

1. An attestation signed and dated by the owner, officer or board

member that he or she has not been convicted of an excluded

Sfelony offense,



2,

3'

An attestation signed and dated by the owner, officer or board

member that he or she has not served as an owner, officer, or

board member for a medical marijuana establishment that

has had its registration certificate suspended or revoked;

That the information provided to support the application for a

marijuana distributor license is true and correct;

A narrative description, not to exceed 750 words,

demonstrating:

a. Any previous experience at operating other businesses or
nonprofit organizations; and

b. Qualifications that are directly and demonstrably related

1o the operation of a marijuana establishment.

5. A resume.

n. A financial plan which includes, without limitation:

1

2,

3.

Financial statements showing the resources of the applicant;
If the applicant is relying on money from an owner, officer
or board member, evidence that the person has
unconditionally committed such money to the use of the
applicant in the event the Department awards a distributor
license to the applicant and the applicant obtains the
necessary approvals from local governments to operate; and
Proof that the applicant has adequate money to cover all

expenses and costs of the first year of operation.
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o. Evidence that the applicant has a plan to staff, educate
and manage the proposed marijuana distributor on a daily
basis, which must include, withous limitation:

1. A detailed budget for the proposed marijuana
distributor, including preopening, construction and
first year operating expenses;

2. An operations manual that demonstrates compliance
with NRS 453D and this chapter;

3. An education plan which must include, without
limitation, providing educational materials to the
staff of the proposed marijuana distributor; and

4. An indication from the proposed marijuana
distributor that it is aware that it must comply with
all local government enacted zoning restrictions and
be in compliance with NRS 453D.210 prior to
issuance of a marijuana distributor license.

p. Any other information the Department may require.

1. The Department shall maintain the confidentiality of and
shall not disclose the name or any other identifying
information of any person who applies for a marijuana
establishment license, A list of the licensed entities will be

posted on the Department’s website.
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2. The Department will not issue a marijuana distributor
license until the Department completes an inspection of the
proposed marijuana distributor. Such an inspection may
require more than one visit to the proposed marijuana
distributor,

Sec. 15. Distributor license: Suspension for operational deficiencies; plan of correction.

1. If the Department determines that there are any deficiencies in the operation of a
marijuana distributor or in the provision of services by a marijuana distributor, the
Department may suspend its marijuana distributor license and reguest a written plan
of correction from the marijuana distributor.

2. A marijuana distributor whose marijuana distributor license has been suspended
pursuant to subsection 1 of this section shall develop a plan of correction for each
deficiency and submit the plan to the Department for approval within 10 business days
after receipt of the statement of deficiencies. The plan of correction must include
specific requirements for corrective action, which must include times within which the
deficiencies are to be corrected,

3. If the plan submitted pursuant to subsection 2 of this section is not acceptable to the
Department, the Department may direct the marijuana distributor to resubmit a plan of
correction or the Department may develop a directed plan of correction with which the
marijuana distributor must comply.

Sec. 16. Distributor license: Grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a license to

operate as a marijuana distributor.

1. The Department will deny an application for a marijuana distributor license if:

13



{a) The applicant for the marijuana distributor license is not in compliance with any
provision of this chapter or NRS 453D; or

(b) An owner, officer or board member of the applicant for the marijuana distributor
license:

(1) Is an employee or contractor of the Department;

(2) Has an ownership or financial investment interest in an independent testing
JSacility and also is an owner, officer or board member of a marijuana
distributor; or

(3) Provides false or misleading information to the Department.

2. The Department will revoke a marijuana distributor license if:

(a) The marijuana distributor engages in any of the following:

(1) Dispensing, delivering or otherwise transferring marijuana fo a person
under 21 years of age;

(2) Acquiring usable marijuana or mature marijuana plants from any
person other than a marijuana establishment agent or another licensed
marijuana establishment;

(b) An owner, officer or board member of the marijuana distributor has been
convicted of an excluded felony offense; or

(c) The Department receives formal notice from the applicable local government
that the marijuana distributor has had its authorization to operate terminated.

3. The Department may revoke or suspend any marijuana distributor license issued or
may deny any application under the provisions of this Chapter and NRS 453D upon

any of the following grounds:

14



(@) Violation by the marijuana distributor of any of the provisions of this Chapter
or NRS 453D;

(b} The failure or refusal of a marijuana distributor to comply with any of the
provisions of this Chapter or NRS 453D;

(c) The failure or refusal of a marijuana distributor to carry out the policies and
procedures or comply with the statements provided to the Department in the
application of the marijuana distributor;

(d) Operating as a marijuana distributor without a marijuana distributor license;

(e) The failure or refusal fo return an adequate plan of correction to the
Department within 10 business days after receipt of a statement of deficlencies
pursuant to Section IS5 of this Chapter;

(0 The failure or refusal to correct any deficiency specified by the Department
within the period specified in a plan of correction developed pursuant to Section
15 of this Chapter; or

(&) The failure or refusal to cooperate fully with an investigation or inspection by

the Department.

4. If the Department revokes a marijuana distributor license, the Department must

provide notice to the marijuana distributor that includes, without limitation, the

specific reasons for the revocation.

5. Before revoking a marijuana distributor license as a result of the actions of an owner,

aofficer or board member of the marijuana distributor pursuant to paragraph (b) of

subsection 1 of this section, the Department may provide the marijuana distributor with

an opportunity fo correct the situation.
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Sec. 17. Agents of licensed marijuana distributors required to register with the
Department; requirements for registration; establishment required to notify Department if

agent ceases to be employed by, velunteer at or provide labor as a marijuana distribator.

1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not volunteer or work al,
contract to provide labor as, or be employed by a licensed marijuana distributor unless
the person is registered with the Department pursuant to this section.

2. A licensed marijuana distributor that wishes to retain as a volunteer, employ, or
contract with for labor a marijuana distributor agent shall submit or have the
prospective agent submit to the Department an application on a form prescribed by the
Department. The application must be accompanied by:

(a) The name, address and date of birth of the prospective marijuana distributor
agenty

(D) A statement signed by the prospective marijuana distributor agent pledging not
to dispense or otherwise divert marijuana to any person who is not authorized to
possess marijuana in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter;

{c) A statement signed by the prospective marijuana distributer agent asserting that
he or she has not previously had a medical marijuana establishment agent
registration card revoked;

(d) A complete set of the fingerprints and written permission of the prospective
marijuana distributor agent authorizing the Department to forward the
Jingerprints 1o the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History
Jor submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report;

(e) The application fee, as allowed by law; and

16



() Such other information as the Department may require.

3. A marijuana distributor shall notify the Department within 10 days after a marijuana
distributor agent ceases to be employed by, volunteer at or provide labor as a
marijuana distributor agent to the marijuana distributor.

4. A person shall not serve as a marijuana distributor agent if ke or she:

(a) Has been convicted of an excluded felony offense; or
(B) Is less than 21 years of age.

5. The Department shall submit the fingerprints of an applicant for registration as a
marijuana distributor agent to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal
Histary for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation to determine the
criminal history of the applicant.

6. If an applicant for registration as a marijuana distributor agent satisfies the
requirements of this section and is not disqualified from serving as such an agent

pursuant to this section or any other applicable law, the Department shall issue to the
person and, for an independent contractor, to each person identified in the
independent contractor’s application for registration as an emplayee who will provide
labor as a marijuana distributor agent, a marijuana distributor agent card. If the
Department does not act upon an application for a marijuana distributor agent card
within 30 days after the date on which the application is received, the application shall
be deemed conditionally approved until such time as the Department acts upon the
application.

Sec. 18 Marijuana distributor duties and responsibilities.

1. A licensed marijuana distributor may transport marijuana and marijuana products

17



between a marijuana establishment and:
(a) Another marijuana establishment;
(b) Between the buildings of the marijuana establishment.

2. A marijuana establishment that holds more than one type of establishment license
may only transport marijuana and marijuana products to a retail marijuana store
if they hold a marijuana distributor license.

3. A marijuana distributor may not purchase or sell marijuana or marijuana products
unless they hold another license that allows for the purchase or sale of marijuana and
marifuana producis.

4. Before transporting marijnana or marijuana products pursuant to subsection 1 of
this Chapter, a licensed marijuana distributor must:

(a) Complete a trip plan that includes, without limitation:

(1) The name of the marijuana establishment agent in charge of the
transportation;

(2) The date and start time of the trip;

(3) A description, including the amount, of the marijuana or marijuana
products being transported along with the unigue identification code
Jor the product; and

{4) The anticipated route of transportation including the business names
and phone numbers along with the license numbers of the shipping

and receiving licensees.
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(b) Provide a copy of the trip plan completed pursuant to paragraph (a) of this
section to the marijuana establishment for which he or she is providing the
fransportation.

(c) Record the trip plan in the inventory control tracking system approved by the
Department if such a System is available.

3. During the transportation of marijuana or marijuana products pursuant to subsection 1
of this section, the licensed distributor agent must:

(a) Carry a copy of the trip plan completed pursuant to paragraph (a) of subsection

4 of this section with him or her for the duration of the trip;

(b) Have his or her marijuana distributor agent card in his or her immediate

possession;

(c) Use a vehicle without any identification relating to marijuana and which is
equipped with a secure lockbox or locking cargo area which must be used for

the sanitary and secure transportation of marijuana or marijuana products;

(d) Have a means of communicating with the marijuana establishment for which

he or she is providing the transportation; and

(e) Ensure that all marijuana or marijuana products are not visible,
(1) After transporting marijuana or marijuana products pursuant to
subsection 1 of this section, a distributor agent must enter the end time
of the trip and any changes to the trip plan that was completed

pursuant to paragraph (a) of subsection 4 of this section.
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6. Each distributor agent transporting marijuana or marijuana products pursuant to
subsection I of this section must:

{a) Report any vehicle accident that occurs during the transportation (o a person
designated by the marijuana distributor o receive such reports within 2 hours
afier the accident occurs;

(b) Report any loss or theft of marijuana or marijuana preducts that occurs during
the transportation to a person designated by the marijuana distributor to receive
such reports immediately after the marijuana distributor agent becomes aware
of the loss or thefi. A marijuana distributor that receives a report of loss or theft
pursuant to this paragraph must immediately report the loss or theft to the
appropriate law enforcement agency and to the Department as required by
Section 21 of this Chapter; and

{c) Report any unauthorized stop that lasts longer than 2 hours to the Department.

7. A marijuana distributor shall:

(a) Maintain the documents required in paragraph (a) of subsection 4 and
subsections 6 (a) and (B) of this section; and

{b) Provide a copy of the documents required in paragraph (a) of subsection 4 and
subsections 6 (a) and (b) of this section to the Department for review upon
request.

8. Each marijuana distributor shall maintain a log of all reports received pursuant to
subsection 4 and subsection 6 (a) and (b) of this section.
9. Unless extenuating circumstances exist, a marijuana distributor may not store

marijuana or marijuana products overnight for any reason and must make direct

20



delivery. If extenuating circumstances exist, the marijuana distributor must notify the

Department of the extenuating circumstances as soon as possible.

Sec. 19, Transportation of marijuana and marijuana preducts by a marijuana
cultivation facility, marijuana testing facility, marijuana product manufacturing facility
and retail store.

1. A licensed marijuana cultivation facility, marijuana testing facility, marijuana
product manufacturing facility, or retail marijuana store may transport marifuana and
marijuana products without a marijuana distributor license as follows:

(a) A marijuana cultivation facility and a marijuana product manufacturing
Jacility may transport marijuana and marijuana products to or from marijuana
testing facility, a marijuana cultivation facility or a marijuana product
manufacturing facility.

() A marijuana testing facility may transport marijuana and marijuana products
to or from a testing facility for testing.

(c) A retail marijuana store may transport marijuana and marijuana products fo or

Jrom a marijuana testing facility.
Sec. 20. Transportation of marijuana and marijuana products prohibited
1. A marijuana establishment is prohibited from transporting marijuana and marijuana
producis 1o a retail marijuana store unless the establishment has a marijuana distributor

license. This provision does not apply to:
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(a) A medical marijuana establishment only transporting marijuana or marijuana
product for sale to medical patients;
(B) A marijuana testing facility transporting samples for lab testing;
(c) An independent contractor of a medical marijuana establishment transporting
only medical marijuana; or
(d) A retail marijuana store delivering not more than 10 ounces of marijuana or
marijuana product to a consumer. Except that a retail marijuana store is
prohibited from delivering marijuana or marijuana product to a consumer at
any location that has been issued a gaming license as defined in NRS 463.015.
(1)  When transporting marijuana or marifuana products to a consumer a
marijuana distributor agent must:
a. Before transportation, confirm verbally with the consumer by
telephone that the consumer is 21 years of age or older and
ordered the marijuana or marijuana products and verify the

identity of the consumer;

b. Enter the details of the confirmation obtained pursuant to
paragraph (a) of this section in a log which must be available for
inspection by the appropriate law enforcement agency and by the

Department; and

c. Review and document the government-issued identification to
determine the consumer’s age and secure a signature from the
consumer when the items are delivered and may only leave the

items with the consumer.
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d. Comply with the requirements in Section 18, subsections 2

through 9 of this Chapter.

2. Violation of this provision may result in denial, suspension, or revocation pursuant to
Section 12 of this Chapter.
Sec. 21. Reporting of loss or theft of marijuana and marijuana product; maintenance
of documentation.
L. A marijuana distributor shall:
(a) Document and report any loss or theft of marijuana and marijuana product
Jrom the marijuana distributor to the appropriate law enforcement agency and
to the Department; and
(b) Maintain copies of any documentation required pursuant Section 18 of this
Chapter for at least 5 years afier the date on the documentation and provide
copies of the documentation to the Department for review upon request.
Sec. 22. License Expiration and renewal
1. A marijuana establishment license issued pursuant to this Chapter will expire one year
after the date of issue.
Sec. 23. Applicability of NRS 453A and NAC 453A to the regulations adopted pursuant
to this Chapter.
1. Relevant provisions in NRS 4534 and related regulations adopted pursuant to NAC
4534 are applicable herein, including but not limited to:
(a) Requirements for the security of marijuana establishments;
(B) Requirements to prevent the sale or diversion of marijuana and marijuana

products to persons under 21 years of age;
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(c) Requirements for the packaging of marijuana and marijuana producis,
including requirements for child-resistant packaging;

(d) Reguirements for the testing and labeling of marijuana and marijuana
products sold by marijuana establishments including a numerical indication of
potency based on the ratio of THC to the weight of a product intended for oral
consumption;

(e) Requirements for record keeping by marijuana establishments;

() Reasonable restrictions on signage, marketing, display, and advertising;

(g) Procedures and requirements to enable the transfer of a license for a
marijuana establishment to another qualified person and to enable a licensee 1o
move the location of its establishment to another suitable location; and

(h) Procedures and requirements for agent registration cards excep! those applying
as agents of licensed marijuana distributors pursuant to Section 17 of this

Chapter.

Sec. 24, Civil penalties.

1. The Department may:

(a) Impose a civil penalty of up to $35,000 on any person who:
(1) Operates a marijuana establishment without a license
(B) Impose a civil penalty of up 1o $10,000 on any person who:
(1) Omits, neglects or refuses to:
a. Comply with any duty imposed up on him or her pursuant to the

provisions of this Chapter and NRS 453D; or
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b. Do or cause to be done any of the things required pursuant to
those provisions.
(2) Does anything prohibited by the provisions of this Chapter and NRS

453D,
In determining the amount of any civil penally assessed under this Chapter, the
Department shall take into account the gravity of the violation, the economic benefit or
savings (if any) resulting from the violation, the size of the violator’s business, the
violator’s history of compliance with this C‘hapler and Chapter 453A, action taken to
remedy the violation, the effect of the penalty on the violator’s ability to continue in

business, and such other matters as justice may require.

Sec 25. Disposition of unauthorized marijuana or marijuana products and related

materials,

1.

2,

3.

4

The provisions of this section shall apply in addition to any civil penalties.

The Department may specify that some or all of the person’s or licensee’s marijuana or
marijuana preduci is not cultivated, sold, produced, tested or otherwise manufactured
in accordance with state law and is deemed illegal marijuana.

The Department may summarily seize or quarantine any such marijuana and
marijuana products that it determines is illegal marijuana,

The Department shall not be required to cultivate or otherwise care for any illegal
marijuana or marijuana product guarantined or seized. The Department shall not be
authorized to sell illegal marijuana or marijuana product,

The Department may direct the destruction of any such marijuana and marijuana

products that it determines is illegal marijuana. The authorized destruction may
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include the incidental destruction of any containers, equipment, supplies, and other
property associated with the marijuana or marijuana product.

6. If the Department orders destruction authorized by subsection 6 of this section, a
person or licensee shall have fifteen days within which to request a hearing with a
hearing officer for improper seizure.

(a) The hearing officer shall promptly rule upon the request and determine
whether the person or licensee has a substantial likelihood of success on
appeal so as to warrant delay of the destruction authorized by subsection 6
of this section or whether other circumstances, including but not limited to
the need for preservation of evidence, warrant delay of such destruction.

(b) If destruction is so delayed by the hearing officer, the hearing afficer shall
issue an order setting forth terms and conditions pursuant to which the
person or licensee may maintain the marijuana and marijuana product
pending review and prohibiting the person or licensee from using or
distributing the retail marijuana or retail marifuana product pending the
review.

(c) The Department shall not carry out the destruction authorized by
subsection 5 of this section until fifieen days have passed without the
Jfiling of a request for hearing or until the hearing officer has issued an
order denying the delay of destruction.

7. Iflaw enforcement begins a criminal investigation of a retail marijuana establishment

and notifies the Department of such investigation, the Department shall not destroy



any marijuana or marijuana products from the retail marijuana establishment until

the destruction is approved by law enforcement.

MARIJUANA TAX
Reporting and Transmittal of Marijuana Taxes
Sec. 26. Applicability of NRS 360.

1. The provisions of NRS 360 relating to the paymens, collection, administration and
enforcement of taxes, including, without limitation, any provisions relating to the
impasition of penalties and interest, shall be deemed to apply to the payment,
collection, administration and enforcement of the excise and sales tax on marijuana.

Sec. 27, Sales and Use Tax Returns Required. Payment of tax; monthly return,

1. Marijuana sold pursuant to NRS 453D is subject to sales tax when it is sold at a reiail
store. Returns and payments must be submitted as provided in NRS 372.354 through
NRS 372,395,

Sec. 28. Excise Tax Returns Required. Payment of tax: monthly return.

1. An excise tax must be collected by the State on the wholesale sales of marijuana af a
rate of 15 percent of the Fair Market Value at Wholesale of the marijuana.

2. An excise tax must be collected by the State on marijuana or marijuana products bya
retail marijuana store at the rate of 10 percent of the sales price of the marijuana or
marijuana products pursuant to Senate Bill 487 (2017). The excise tax does not apply
to non-marijuana products sold by the retail marijuana store. This tax is the obligation
of the retail marijuana store and is separate from and in addition to any general state

and local sales and use taxes that apply to retail sales of tangible personal property.
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3.

Each marijuana cultivator and retail marijuana store shall, on or before the last day of

the month immediately following each month for which the marijuana is sold, file with

the Department a return on a form prescribed by the Department and remit to the

Department any tax due for the month covered by the return. A return must be filed

whether or not a sale or purchase has occurred.

The marijuana cultivation facility shall pay the excise tax to the Department upon the
first sale of marijuana to a marijuana retail store, a marijuana product manufacturing
Jacility, or another marijuana cultivation facility.

(a) If a marijuana cultivation facility sells to another marijuana cultivation facility
and pays the wholesale excise tax to the Department on the sale as required by
NRS 453D.500, the wholesale excise tax will not be due on any subsequent sales
of that product.
A marijuana cultivation facility and a retail marijuana store must keep all supporting
documentation for verification that the excise tax was paid on the first sale of the
product,
Calculation and Payment of Tax.
(a) Calculation of Fair Market Value at Wholesale.

(1) The Department will calculate the Fair Market Value at Wholesale
using reported sales of each category. The Department will determine
the best methodology to arrive at the Fair Market Value at Wholesale.
The Department may, from time to time, change its method of

calculating the Fair Market Value at Wholesale if, in the judgment of



the Department, such change is necessary to arrive at the most accurate
Fair Market Value at Wholesale given the market conditions.

(b) The tax shall be calculated based on the category of the Marijuana Product
(Le., Bud, Small/Popcorn Bud, Trim, Immature Plant, Wet Whole Plant, or
Seeds) being sold.

(1) To set the initial Fair Market Value at Wholesale, the Department will
use data collected from current medical marijuana cultivators as well
as other data available related to the Fair Market Value at Wholesale

(2) The excise tax for Bud is computed on the total weight of all Bud that
is sold, Notwithstanding this rule, the inadvertent inclusion of
inconsequential amounts of Bud in a sale that is otherwise Trim shall
not be treated as the sale of Bud,

(3) The excise tax for Trim is calculated on the total weight of all Trim
that is sold. Notwithstanding this rule, the inadvertent inclusion of
inconsequential amounts of Bud in a sale that is otherwise Trim shall
be treated as the sale of Trim.

(d) The excise tax for Immature Plants is calculated on the total number
of Immature Plants being sold.

(5) The excise tax for Wet Whole Plants is calculated on the total weight
of the entire Marijuana Wet Whole Plant. The weight of the entire
Pplant is subject to tax because the Fair Market Value at Wholesale for
Wet Whole Plant already reflects an allowance for water weight and

waste. The Wet Whole Plant may not undergo any further processing
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(i.e., drying the plant and subsequently selling separately the Bud and
Trim) prior to being weighed when using the Wet Whole Plant basis.

(a) The Marijuana Wet Whole Plant must be weighed within 2 hours
of the batch being harvested and without any further processing,
including any artificial drying such as increasing the ambient
temperature of the room or any other form of drying, curing, or
trimming. Tax must be calculated and paid on the total Wet
Whole Plant weight. If the Wet Whole Plant is not weighed
within 2 hours of the batch being harvested or is subjected to
Jurther processing before being weighed, the excise tax on such
plant cannot be calculated and paid on the Wet Whole Plant
basis and must instead be calculated and paid at the Bud and
Trim rates.

(b) The Marijuana Cultivation Facility must maintain records of the
time each plant was harvested and weighed and the weight of
each plant. The records must be in writing and created
contemporaneously with the harvesting and weighing.

(6) The excise tax for seeds is calculated on the total number of seeds
being sold
7. Both the marijuana cultivation facility and the first purchaser shall maintain
documentation of the payment of the excise tax. Such evidence may be the purchase

invoice, so long as the invoice shows the name and license number of the marijuana



cultivation facility, name and license number of first purchaser, the category of
product being sold, the date of sale, and the weight of the product being sold.
Sec. 29. Maintenance and availability of records of taxpayer.

1. Each person responsible for maintaining the records of a taxpayer shali:

(@) Keep such records as may be necessary to determine the amount of the
liability of the taxpayer pursuant to the provisions of NRS 453D.500.
(B) Preserve those records for 4 years or until any litigation or prosecution
pursuant to NRS 453D.500, inclusive, is finally determined, whichever is
longer; and
(c) Make the records available for inspection by the Department upon demand
at reasonable times during regular business hours.

Sec. 30. Examination of records by Department.

L. To verify the accuracy of any return filed by a taxpayer or, if no return is filed, to
determine the amount required to be paid, the Department, or any person authorized in
writing by the Department, may examine the books, papers and records of any person
who may be liable for the excise or sales tax on marijuana.

Sec. 31. Miscellaneous tax provisions
1. The provisions of NRS 3724.300 through NRS 3724.380 shall be deemed to apply the

administration of the tax under NRS 453D.
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