KEEP KIDS SAFE: WHAT YOU CAN DO
As a parent, a teacher, or other trusted person in a child's life, you have an important role in protecting kids from the risks associated with marijuana. The information on this page is intended to help you do that.
Store marijuana safely
If you have marijuana in your home, or if your child visits a home that does, make sure the marijuana is stored properly. Edible marijuana products can easily be mistaken for regular food or candy. Children can become very sick from accidentally consuming marijuana.
- Keep all marijuana products in child-resistant packaging and clearly label it
- Place the packaged marijuana products in a locked cabinet or box
- Make sure the locked cabinet or box is placed where children can't see or reach it
- Adjust how marijuana is stored when older children or teens are around; what is safe storage for a young child may not stop older kids
To learn about what the state will require of marijuana retailers for safe packaging and advertising, see What the State is Doing.
Talk to kids
Talking to young people about marijuana can help them understand the risks. They need good information from an adult they trust. According to the 2013 Nevada Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 9.6 percent of high school students tried marijuana for the first time before they were 13 years old.
When you talk with youth, listen carefully and stay positive. Keep the conversation open so youth can come to you with questions. Knowing they can ask questions helps young people make good choices. Be honest with them about the health risks and legal consequences. Explain how staying out of trouble and doing well in school can help them reach their goals.
In addition to these general tips for talking to kids, your message may be different depending on the child's age. You can use the following suggestions, or tailor the conversation to meet level of development and maturity for the child you want to talk to.
Set the tone. Start an open dialog about the use of alcohol and marijuana, and the misuse of prescription drugs and other drugs during the preteen years so the child will feel comfortable discussing these topics as they grow older.
The chances of encountering alcohol, marijuana, prescription drugs, and other drugs increase dramatically in high school. Kids this age need more frequent conversations about the topic. Keep the conversations informal and have them during meal times or while in the car doing errands. Ask them open-ended questions, like: "If your friends wanted to try a drug, how would you handle that?" Let those questions and answers guide your discussion.
Even though young people are transitioning into adulthood at this age, they still look to trusted adults for guidance and support. Keep the conversation going and promote responsibility. Understanding your desire to see them succeed at work or school can help them make positive decisions to avoid alcohol and drugs.
Information in this section was provided by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and used with permission.
Report abuse and neglect
Doctors, nurses, teachers, childcare providers, and many others, are considered "mandated reporters" by Nevada law (NRS Chapter 432B). This means that if they have reasonable cause to believe child abuse may be occurring or has occurred, they are required to make a report to Child Protective Services or a law enforcement agency.
You can learn more about child abuse and neglect by watching the video, Recognizing, Reporting and Preventing Child Abuse, from the Nevada Division of Child & Family Services. You can also visit their website for more information and resources.
To report suspected abuse or neglect, call the statewide hotline at 1-800-992-5757.